59th International Symposium ELMAR-2017
18-20 September 2017, Zadar, Croatia
Call for Papers
Important Dates
Keynote Speakers
Special Sessions
Paper Submission
Technical Program
Travel Information
ELMAR History


Download Call for Papers

The 59th International Symposium ELMAR-2017, the oldest conference in Europe, will be traditionally held in the beautiful old town Zadar on the Croatian Adriatic coast. While the scientific program is expected to create stimulating professional interaction, the crystal clear Adriatic Sea, warm summer atmosphere and wealth of historic monuments promise a pleasant and memorable stay.

During the 59 years of activity ELMAR symposium became a significant scientific conference in the field of multimedia communications, image and video processing, navigation systems, speech and audio processing, telecommunications, wireless communications, electronics in marine, naval architecture, sea ecology, and other advanced research areas. Besides, every year ELMAR symposium gathers specialists of various kinds (government representatives, navy, industry, universities and various business people from the region) to discuss the most recent issues and contribute to appropriate market development in Croatia.

The scientific program includes keynote talks by eminent international experts and contributed papers. Papers accepted by two independent reviewers will be published in symposium proceedings available at the symposium. ELMAR-2017 symposium is sponsored by the Croatian Society Electronics in Marine (ELMAR).

Several special sessions will be organized during ELMAR-2017 symposium. Authors are encouraged to submit their papers to these special sessions. - more information


  • Image and Video Processing
  • Multimedia Communications
  • Speech and Audio Processing
  • Wireless Communications
  • Telecommunications
  • Antennas and Propagation
  • e-Learning and m-Learning
  • Navigation Systems
  • Ship Electronic Systems
  • Power Electronics and Automation
  • Naval Architecture
  • Sea Ecology
  • Special Sessions - more information


  • Prof. Panos Liatsis, Department of Electrical Engineering, The Petroleum Institute, UAE:
    Patient-specific blood flow modelling in the assessment of functional stenosis severity
  • Tigran Vržina, Transmitters & Communications Ltd., Croatia:
    Impact of the transition from analog (FM) to digital (DAB+) sound broadcasting on the environmental preservation
  • Prof.  Peter Planinšič, University of Maribor, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Maribor, Slovenia:
    SAR-images analysis and applications

more information


IMPORTANT: Web-based (online) paper submission of papers in PDF format is required for all authors. No e-mail, fax, or postal submissions will be accepted. Authors should prepare their papers according to ELMAR-2017 paper sample, convert them to PDF, and submit them using web-based submission system by May 8, 2017.

"Instructions for Authors" are available here.


Final deadline for submission of full papers May 8, 2017
Notification of acceptance mailed out by May 22, 2017
Deadline for submission of camera-ready papers June 5, 2017
Preliminary program available on the web-site by June 21, 2017
Registration deadline June 26, 2017
Payment deadline July 3, 2017
Accommodation deadline July 10, 2017


Croatian Society Electronics in Marine - ELMAR

IEEE Region 8
IEEE Croatia Section
IEEE Croatia Section MTT, AP and SP Chapters

Branka Zovko-Cihlar
University of Zagreb, Croatia

Mislav Grgic
University of Zagreb, Croatia

Juraj Bartolic, Croatia
Narcis Behlilovic, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Marek Domanski, Poland
Janusz Filipiak, Poland
Borko Furht, USA
Mohammed Ghanbari, United Kingdom
Mislav Grgic, Croatia
Sonja Grgic, Croatia
Yo-Sung Ho, Korea
Bernhard Hofmann-Wellenhof, Austria
Ebroul Izquierdo, United Kingdom
Kristian Jambrosic, Croatia
Aggelos K. Katsaggelos, USA
Ismail Khalil, Austria
Tomislav Kos, Croatia
Murat Kunt, Switzerland
Igor Kuzle, Croatia
Panos Liatsis, UAE
Rastislav Lukac, Canada
Lidija Mandic, Croatia
Branka Medved Rogina, Croatia
Borivoj Modlic, Croatia
Marta Mrak, United Kingdom
Zdenek Nemec, Slovak Republic
Miloš Oravec, Slovak Republic
Jarmila Pavlovičová, Slovak Republic
Fernando Pereira, Portugal
Jan Pidanic, Slovak Republic
Pavol Podhradsky, Slovak Republic
Ramjee Prasad, Denmark
Kamisetty R. Rao, USA
Gregor Rozinaj, Slovak Republic
Gerald Schaefer, United Kingdom
Shiguang Shan, China
Thomas Sikora, Germany
Ryszard Stasinski, Poland
Luis Torres, Spain
Frantisek Vejrazka, Czech Republic
Stamatis Voliotis, Greece
Krzysztof Wajda, Poland
Nick Ward, United Kingdom
Branka Zovko-Cihlar, Croatia

Jelena Bozek, Croatia
Mislav Grgic, Croatia
Mario Mustra, Croatia
Dijana Tralic, Croatia
Josip Vukovic, Croatia

Prof. Mislav Grgic
FER, Unska 3 / XII
HR-10000 Zagreb

E-mail: elmar2017@fer.hr
URL: http://www.elmar-zadar.org/

© ELMAR Zadar, 2016